top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTracy Richards

Greenhouse

After graduating from SCAD I lost student access to many programs. Because of this, I moved back to Blender after many years away. I believe it's been about 6-7 years since I last touched it. Anyway, it was really exciting to be able to apply the education I have to a new program. It really solidified my understanding as a 3D artist.


I really wanted to add some more environment to my portfolio so I chose a nice leafy sunlit scene. This long hallway greenhouse grabbed my interest right away. All the shapes and curves of the windows create such interesting pools of light.


Eventually, I might "wreck" the scene, but for now, I just want to use this as a base for modeling and layout.


After modeling a rough layout and some lighting, I decided it needed creeping foliage. I found an awesome ivy generator by Antoine Bagattini

on Gumroad. The shadows from the ivy gave so much life to the scene.


A few hours of tweaking and picking plants lead me to this next test render. I found the BlenderKit add-on that gave me the plants and HDRI added in this shot. The plants look pretty good but the HDRI seems to have taken some warmth out. I'll have to go in and change that a bit.


So far nothing is textured other than the outside assets. After finally seeing the feeling of the space, I believe I can start filling it out more with more models.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page